study-blast
Previous Next

Recycle Bin

When you deleted a file in an old operating system like DOS, it permanently deleted it, so you could never get it back. When you delete a file in Windows XP, it goes into the recycle bin, so if you ever need it again, you can always get it back.

Move the Recycle Bin

The recycle bin is in the top left corner of the desktop.

Move the recycle bin, for example, move it to the top right corner of the desktop.

This completes moving the recycle bin.

Recycle Bin

Open the recycle bin.

This is the recycle bin, it's filled with all the shortcuts I deleted when I got my new computer.

Close the recycle bin.

This completes opening and closing the recycle bin.

Create a File

Create a file, for example, write a letter to someone.

The new text document is a letter to someone.

You don't have to actually write the letter, you just have to create the file.

Delete a File

Delete a file, for example, if you don't like the letter because you didn't write anything, so you're not going to send it.

Are you sure you want to send the letter to the recycle bin?

It deletes the letter off the desktop and puts it in the recycle bin.

Restore a File

Restore a file from the recycle bin, for example, if you change your mind and decide you should write the letter and maybe you should even send it, too.

It restores the letter to the desktop.

This completes restoring a file.

Delete a File Again

Delete the file again, for example, if you still haven't written anything, so it's not even really a letter, so you can't even send it to anyone, anyway.

Are you sure you want to send the letter to the recycle bin?

It deletes the letter off the desktop again, and puts it into the recycle bin again.

Permanently Delete a File

Permanently delete a file from the recycle bin, for example, if you hate the letter because you never wrote anything and it's just a blank page, so you are never going to send it to anyone ever!

It permanently deletes the letter from the recycle bin, you can never get it back.

Empty the Recycle Bin

Every file you ever delete goes into the recycle bin, and all those files take up space on your hard drive. Every month or so, or even just once a year, you should make sure you don't need any of those old files anymore and empty the recycle bin.

Are you sure you want to delete these items?

It permanently deletes everything from the recycle bin.

You can never get any of those files back, but it frees up all that space on your hard drive.


Previous Next